This Week in Books

This Week in Books – 17-03-21

This Week in Books is a feature hosted by Lipsy at Lipsyy Lost and Found that allows bloggers to share:

  • What they’ve recently finished reading
  • What they are currently reading
  • What they are planning to read next

A similar meme is run by Taking on a World of Words.


The last book I read was Dog Days by Ericka Waller. I’ll be sharing my review later this week as part of the blog tour, but I absolutely loved this.

George is very angry. His wife has upped and died on him, and all he wants to do is sit in his underpants and shout at the cricket. The last thing he needs is his cake-baking neighbour Betty trying to rescue him. And then there’s the dog, a dachshund puppy called Poppy. George doesn’t want a dog – he wants a fight.

Dan is a counsellor with OCD who is great at helping other people – if only he were better at helping himself. His most meaningful relationship so far is with his labrador Fitz. But then comes a therapy session that will change his life.

Lizzie is living in a women’s refuge with her son Lenny. Her body is covered in scars and she has shut herself off from everyone around her. But when she is forced to walk the refuge’s fat terrier, Maud, a new life beckons – if she can keep her secret just a while longer…

Dog Days is a novel about those small but life-changing moments that only come when we pause to let the light in. It is about three people learning to make connections and find joy in living life off the leash.


From dogs to cats, my current read is Cat Step by Alison Irvine.

One mistake can unravel everything…

She only left her daughter in the car for a minute. Just a quick minute whilst she ran into the shop. She barely thought twice about making that decision, but it soon began to consume her every thought. And not just her thoughts, but those of every neighbour, police and social security worker in a fifteen mile radius . This is her child. Surely she knows best? After making the move to a small town in Scotland the rolling hills and blustery beaches seemed to be the perfect backdrop for her and her four year-old daughter, Emily, to start again, to mend and move on. It isn’t always easy just the two of them, but Liz is sure that she can manage. She hasn’t been entirely honest, though, not with herself or her new friends. Will they be as supportive once they realise who she is? Sometimes, one mistake is all it takes to unravel everything.

A lyrically sparse novel about judgement, intergenerational relationships, community, class, and the expectations that we place on mothers. With sharp prose Alison Irvine has crafted a compassionate narrative that compels you to read on. Cat Step will appeal to fans of Sarah Winman, Anne Enright, and Kit de Waal.


My next read might be The Girl With the Louding Voice by Abi Daré.

I don’t just want to be having any kind voice…
I want a louding voice.

At fourteen, Adunni dreams of getting an education and giving her family a more comfortable home in her small Nigerian village. Instead, Adunni’s father sells her off to become the third wife of an old man. When tragedy strikes in her new home, Adunni flees to the wealthy enclaves of Lagos, where she becomes a house-girl to the cruel Big Madam, and prey to Big Madam’s husband. But despite her situation continuously going from bad to worse, Adunni refuses to let herself be silenced. And one day, someone hears her.


And that’s my week in books! What are you reading this week? Let me know in the comments! 😎

7 comments

    1. Thanks, Nicki! At the moment my thoughts are “I loved it and it has cute dogs!” I’ll try and work on that before I have to post my review! 😂

  1. I’ve seen so many people reading Dog Days this week! I hope you are enjoying it and ill look forward to reading your review 🙂

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: